IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Replacing spark plugs causes engine to stall at idle?
Hartmann
post May 26 2009, 06:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,398
Joined: 23-February 06
From: IAH/AUS/SFO/FRA/TXL
Member No.: 35



I had the spark plugs and wires replaced in my Honda Accord recently and was driving it this morning and had it stall out at idle while sitting at a light. It seemed like it was fine but then at 70mph it would lose RPM and then immediately jump back up. I thought it may be a computer being reset issue, but wouldn't that correct itself after a few miles?


--------------------

"There is a level of cowardice lower than that of the conformist: that of the fashionable non-conformist."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mommy
post May 26 2009, 08:11 AM
Post #2


New son Donovan Charles Mummert born July 17, 2008


Group: Members
Posts: 8,635
Joined: 22-February 06
From: Port Wentworth, GA
Member No.: 15



Had a similar issue and it was caused by a hose issue.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chook
post May 26 2009, 09:56 AM
Post #3


Oh baby bring me down
Group Icon

Group: Agents
Posts: 4,115
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Way out yonder
Member No.: 68



wires could have bad connection. Happened on my motorcycle.


--------------------
Southern Rock, beer and bears!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hartmann
post May 26 2009, 10:07 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,398
Joined: 23-February 06
From: IAH/AUS/SFO/FRA/TXL
Member No.: 35



QUOTE (chook @ May 26 2009, 10:56 AM) *
wires could have bad connection. Happened on my motorcycle.


Is it easy to see the bad connection? I checked the connection to the plugs and they all seem to be attached firmly.


--------------------

"There is a level of cowardice lower than that of the conformist: that of the fashionable non-conformist."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
impala454
post May 26 2009, 11:01 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10,620
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Houston, TX
Member No.: 48



check the O2 sensor connection
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dogmeat
post May 26 2009, 08:05 PM
Post #6


DEATH TO ....something?


Group: Members
Posts: 5,616
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Vernal, UT
Member No.: 55



Did you use dilectric grease in the plug boots? Did you replace the wires and use dilectric grease all around? It could be a wire shorting or arcing on you.

Also, general rule of thumb when changing spark plugs: Put the same brand back in that came out.

IE, don't waste your money on a bullshit set of Bosch +4 or +2 plugs. If it came with Champion plugs, put Champion plugs back in. If it came with Delco platinum plugs, put Delco platinum plugs back in.

just seems to work better that way.


--------------------
I r Ur Gawd!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chook
post May 26 2009, 10:47 PM
Post #7


Oh baby bring me down
Group Icon

Group: Agents
Posts: 4,115
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Way out yonder
Member No.: 68



If it stalls only after heating up, it could be gap spacing, but what dogmeat suggests is more the culprit.


--------------------
Southern Rock, beer and bears!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
woody
post May 27 2009, 02:33 PM
Post #8





Group: Moderators
Posts: 2,496
Joined: 23-February 06
From: El Paso Texas
Member No.: 32



crossed wires?

example: plug 1 & plug 2 wires switched...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
impala454
post May 27 2009, 03:36 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 10,620
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Houston, TX
Member No.: 48



definitely not crossed wires. try that on your own vehicle sometime and find out how that goes wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hartmann
post May 28 2009, 10:01 AM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,398
Joined: 23-February 06
From: IAH/AUS/SFO/FRA/TXL
Member No.: 35



Thanks for all of the suggestions!

I drove it into work again today and had a long period of the tach going to zero. The car essentially stalled while going 70mph, stayed like that for around 5-7 seconds, then the tach jumped back up to normal RPM. I'm taking it in today.


--------------------

"There is a level of cowardice lower than that of the conformist: that of the fashionable non-conformist."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
impala454
post May 28 2009, 10:04 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 10,620
Joined: 23-February 06
From: Houston, TX
Member No.: 48



my bet is still on the O2 sensor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hartmann
post May 29 2009, 09:43 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,398
Joined: 23-February 06
From: IAH/AUS/SFO/FRA/TXL
Member No.: 35



It ended up being the distributor (not the cap). The computer is sending out the signal that something is wrong with the crankshaft and turns off the car. Ick.


--------------------

"There is a level of cowardice lower than that of the conformist: that of the fashionable non-conformist."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th November 2018 - 05:26 AM
Skin made by: skeedio.com